Mexican Soiree

So, a little while back we had a Mexican Soiree with a bunch of people that Rory met at the School of Fine Arts at Concordia. It was a pretty fun night filled with tacos, churos, wine, silent charlie chaplin films & music. Everyone even got all dressed up in fake mustaches, and cool outfits – which was great because we though we’d be the only ones that would be queer enough to get all dolled up haha. We ended up waiting a while for everyone to get to our apartment – so in the meantime we played records, made delicious food and even took some photographs. When I went home for Uncle Mike’s wedding I got all my film developed & surprisingly most of it came out very cool (my light meter in my camera needs a new battery so we just guesstimated on most of the shots).

After looking at the pictures it inspired Rory to base his first 5 min. short film on that night. We are shooting it today/tonight – it’s pretty exciting! Rory purchased a really nice Canon 814 Super 8 Camera for the shoot.

Also, exciting news! Rory and his fellow first year MFA Filmmates (there’s 7 of them) had their first screening of all their previous work last night. It was amazing! A lot more people than expected showed up and we went out for good conversation & food afterwards. All of the work was inspiring to watch – especially since I had been anticipating the work of the people Rory had been talking about for the last few months. I’m so proud of Rory. I might have seen those films a dozen times but it still made me feel happy for him with a million butterflies in my stomach. I thought to myself, that I could get used to this feeling! I’m really excited to see the work they will create in the next few years…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexican Soiree

  1. jenni_n_kev says:

    This sounds like such an awesome get together. I love things like this! I hope you guys are around for our christmas party its going to be right up your alley. It must be nice to be surrounded by such artsy people. I am excited to go back to school to be surrounded by people like that, but its also nice that the person you are with can be someone that inspires you and shares the same passion for things that like!! Im glad you guys are having so much fun!

    • damedefleur says:

      we should be around for your christmas party extravaganza! last year was awesome.. i’m looking forward to this years. let me know if you need our current address. i still have my invite from last year! hah

Leave a Reply

