Colors of Summer

I love summertime – especially on the Cape. I have been spending the majority of my time outdoors – working in my parents garden, on my dad’s farm, bike riding, kayaking, swimming and working at Kelly Farm, a certified organic farm run by an 87 year old wonder woman by the name of Jean Iverson. It has really been one of the best experiences of my life… Jean is an inspiration in many ways and I feel so fortunate to have met her! She lives a very positive, simple & beautiful life and I can only hope that I will be as rich in thought and health as she is some day. Each day I’m learning something new and it’s very motivating – it’s a great feeling to feel so connected to yourself and your surroundings. I feel like I’ve reached a very wonderful moment of clarity and things are good… and even though I’m clear I crave more knowledge… so I know everything will work out just fine…there are no worries to be had about anything in my control. Today I helped my dad with his beehives – we got dressed up in the white suits and hats – along with the smoker – and were on a mission to find the Queen Bee – one of his hives isn’t producing as much so he was concerned that the Queen had either left or died. Well we searched and found her and in the midst of it all a bee stung me right under the eye – it’s shocking how strong their sting can be! It happened hours ago and it is still swollen and a bit numb… oh well – I am getting extremely pumped to help my dad harvest the honey come the fall… all the hard work really does pay off – keeps you in shape, learning new skills & knowledge – it feels really great getting back to basics..

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colors of Summer

  1. jenni_n_kev says:

    summer fun…
    Jess it sounds like you are having a wonderful summer! The women that owns that farm sounds like a great and inspiring influence to have in your life. I love when you find someone like that- someone you can learn from and who can share their experiences with you. I hope you cherish it all summer long!! I am sorry to hear about the bee sting- but that sounds like some adventure to have beehives and to harvest honey. I have never done anything like that before.
    You guys are welcome to come out to the berskhires and stay anytime you get some free time! I have been dying to go up to MassMOCA. We are going to be having a summer housewarming BBQ on August 9th. Ill let you more details when we get the invites made up. But mark the date down. You are welcome to stay over that weekend.
    Enjoy the Summer!!

Leave a Reply

