Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving was interesting this year – the whole family (or most of them) came down to our house for the festivities. Normally, it’s just my folks, Steph & I together on most holidays but this time all 3 of my half sisters, my nieces and my sisters boyfriends joined us. It’s been a while – probably a lifetime since we’ve all been together like that. Seeing them all made me realize that I wish I knew them all better. I was just a youngin’ when they were all my age & now we all don’t see each other as much as we should. It’s lost time. The idea of feeling far away from my family made me feel quite strange. That my family, the people closest to me – didn’t know one another the way we should. I felt disconnected from myself.

There was one moment though that I will never forget. We all decided to go for a walk on the beach after our turkey day feast. It was a gorgeous day with the sun still in the sky & I it was abnormally warm for November. As we were walking down the beach we started laughing (Ashley, Lynne, my Mom, Chris & Cathy) & I brought it to everyone’s attention that we all laugh the exact same way – followed by the “ahhh” sigh. We all even grabbed our noses after laughing and of course this only made us laugh harder.

When we returned home all the women were sitting around the table eating dessert when I mentioned to everyone about the same laughter that escapes all of our bodies. Instantly the laughter began. The echoing of all these similar voices in different bodies really shook my soul. Different bodies that earlier in the day felt so far away from.. that I only wished I knew better. This laughter gave us that simple connection that reminds you that you don’t need to truly know someone to love them – you just do… For a good 15 minutes we laughed together. I felt like I was having an outer body experience – it was crazy. Then Steph said, “Mom, your responsible for all of this – none of us would be here if it wasn’t for you.” What an amazing thing it is to give life. And yet another simple but profound connection – my mom gave us all life – a beautiful gift that I was very aware of & thankful for this Thanksgiving.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

