Rory’s Thoughts

Jason and I finally had an opportunity to actually sit down together and discuss the progress and future of his animated film project, entitled My Mind– something we haven’t been able to do since our days at Framingham. Now that he has been getting some support from Ithaca we have resumed the project with renewed gusto. It is an awesome feeling to be collaborating with someone who not only has a refined and focused artistic vision, but who values my artistic input as much as his own. I feel like we are on the same wavelength, which is rare in any collaborative effort. It doesn’t hurt that this is the first time in my life I have been able to earn a steady paycheck by using my artistic skills. Needless to say, it is a gratifying experience, one that will be even more so when we finally complete the film.

This project and this trip have already begun to renew my admittedly stagnant creative drive. I am collecting ideas that seem to be cropping up with greater frequency and storing them to be used at a time when I can spend a few days drawing, painting, and animating. With this influx of new ideas also comes a heightened sense of confidence. Lately, having received some accolades and encouragement for my work on Robot Dreaming, My Mind, and some other stuff, I am beginning to realize that my art is good- not in a narcissistic way, but in a matter of fact kind of self-validating way. This is great because I am usually extremely hyper=critical of myself to the point that my productivity is stifled. I hope that I can ride this realization out into a new phase of prolific creation. It all comes down to just doing it and doing it a lot. Not every attempt is going to be a gem, but maybe a few will. But just like with this adventure we are on, it is not the ending result that matters, it is the process.

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rory’s Thoughts

  1. jenni_n_kev says:

    Well put rory! I think that is the single hardest thing for an artist-to just to do the work. Its hard and its scary and we are always the most critical but if you don’t just do it nothing will ever become of it. So good luck!!! We all have known how talented you are for a very long time- i am glad that you are feeling confident in this now too!!

Leave a Reply

