Morning in Mendocino

We woke up early on my 25th birthday (yes, a quarter of a century…) and treated ourselves to a hot, delicious breakfast in the charming coastal town of Mendocino at the Mendocino Bakery. Mary had mentioned the town’s charm on our visit back in Petaluma and we were excited to check it out.

We sauntered around town to check everything out and eventually made our way to a path that looked as if it may lead down to the beach. It wasn’t heavily foot trafficked but we took our chances and headed down the narrow way. We eventually reached a wooden stairway leading down to the beach which was furnished with dozens of redwood sized driftwood – perfect for climbing in the sunshine or leaning against at night if you were to have a bonfire.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I ran down to the waters edge and immediately felt comforted by her touch. The sand was like butter and I danced and danced and danced in the surprisingly warm ocean water. I gave myself a contagious case of the smiles. It felt really good to be so free. Everything makes sense when you just let yourself be in the moment. I was feeling a bit sad leading up to this day being so far away from home but it was in that moment that I realized that this year wasn’t like other years. I was completely out of my comfort zone and challenging myself in new and exciting ways. I was taking this adventure to change and be a better person. To open my world and to share it with others. To hopefully open the ones I love world’s too. If you are happy and alive it strengthens your relationships with all those around you. I felt like I was right where I wanted to be. I missed my family but there was a much more powerful energy in the air. Something you can’t really understand – you just feel – a greater purpose – an energy that lifts you up and grounds you at the same time. This made me feel like 25 had been a pretty good year and I couldn’t wait to begin 26…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning in Mendocino

  1. jenni_n_kev says:

    great jumping pictures! I like the red sweater against the blue sea and sky!

Leave a Reply

