Contents of My Heart

“Don’t listen to nobody… listen to yourself.” – Jim

One day on the farm while weeding through the beets – I began ‘weeding’ out my life (getting your hands dirty certainly brings clarity when your conscious and thoughtful about it). I spoke out loud of my current situation – talking of the trip, looking for a job, where I’ve been and where I want to be. After being on the road for a few months my thoughts and feelings began to trickle from my tongue. I was speaking my mind and the words and in that moment were becoming a reality… it became clearer to me as I spoke – I listened to myself…

Since I’ve been working at farms and connecting with some really amazing people I’ve decided that I want to do a year long apprenticeship next farming season. I feel like this is the next natural step to being one step closer to where I want to be. I want to dedicate myself to learning and absorbing new methods and techniques and practicing old ones. I want to honor the people I’ve met who have inspired me and share the knowledge I gain with others. My ultimate goal is to manage my own farm, someday.

In the meantime I applied for an apprenticeship at a farm in Hawaii for this winter and they called me a few weeks ago to offer me a 2 month position… It’s all happened pretty fast but I’m actually heading back east for a few months to save up some money. It’s been pretty hard living in such a young city trying to find a job. Everybody needs one! But I figure if I want to make Hawaii happen and my year long apprenticeship next year that I have to do this.

This trip for me has been validation that if there’s something you want to do in life you just have to do it. Humans make a lot of excuses for the things we do and don’t do and at the end of the day where are you? Weighed down by a bunch of reasons that stand in your way from doing anything. Despite all that is going on culturally I will not let fear rule my World. Perhaps the biggest fear of all – lose of self. It is easy in this day and age to fall into our cultural priorities – making lots of money, having lots of nice things, and not having enough time to slow down, cook dinner and share it with your family. It’s a wonder how we all got so far away from our real priorities and most importantly ourselves.

I realize the family who eats together, grows together. That knowing how to take care of yourself and having ways to express yourself creatively is the vein that nourishes the soul. I believe that simplicity really is the key to life. We only get one go around and I want to be conscious of it all. To live freely, honorably, and passionately.

I want to bring together communities and give them the necessary skills to live happy, meaningful live. Which is why I’ve decided to do a year long apprenticeship next farming season. I feel like this is the next natural step to being one step closer to where I want to be. Getting my hands dirty, giving life and nourishing a community. I want to be a teacher and give children the skills they need to take care of themselves. I feel that this is where my heart is and I’m excited to do this on my own. I have never really done something on my own and I believe this is a change that will provide growth and knowledge of the self.

I want to be strong and certain and independent. I want to grow and learn and discover new people, places and ideas. I need to read more and go on the internet less. I need to go on a bike ride or walk each day. Write a letter or two each week either to myself or to someone else. I can’t wait for others – I have to do it myself. This is my life. There are no wrong decisions just heartfelt ones. I need to go off the radar for a while… see myself through my eyes and nobody elses. It’s time… watch my flowers grow… and so it flows…

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Contents of My Heart

  1. jenni_n_kev says:

    jess! oh my goodness. You have to email me and let me know all these details. What a huge opportunity. I am so proud of you for making such a tough but what will be such a rewarding decision. Where in hawaii? Kev just asked me if it was Ono Farms in Maui. He was just there a little while ago. When does it start? I would love to hear more about all this!!!
    -Jen

Leave a Reply

