Christmas Eve in Hawaii

Spending the holidays away from home was a first for me in 25 years. I was used to the annual Moore-Powers Christmas extravaganza of a delicious potluck, spending time around my dad’s larger than life bonfire and having a gift exchange. This year was to be a little different in Hawaii. Barry, one of the farmer’s here at Keala’ola Farm invited all the apprentices over for a Christmas Eve Dessert Potluck with homemade mead. All of us were excited to indulge a little after working so hard the week leading up to the holidays. We dressed in our finest and headed over to their house for dessert festivities. Everyone was happy and appreciative to be there. The tables were decorated beautifully in white linens, candles and gorgeous succulent flowers and vegetation. Twinkle lights decorated a nearby palm and we caught ourselves looking up to the canopy of stars that shined millions and millions and millions of miles away right above us. There were plenty of delicious desserts to try as well as some homemade mead made by Barry. We all enjoyed the company of each other as we tried each scrumptious treat.

Later, a few people played some music and we danced some more hours into the night… I missed my family back home and thought of them throughout the night. I knew they were thinking of me too and it felt really great to be loved. I felt like I had found my Hawaiian Ohana here at Keala’ola and that put all thoughts to rest and let me just be… Jess and I shared my bed that night to keep each other company on this day of appreciation and thanks. It felt nice to feel the warmth of someone I held close to my heart.. it reminded me of all the things I was grateful for in this world… the warmth and love of all those in my life.

photos taken by jess hildreth..

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

