A’Bay & A’ Date

One lovely Friday Jess and I accompanied Barry to A’Bay beach up north where we took the van to meet Krista (Barry’s wife) and then were granted the mighty privilege of having the van to ourselves for the rest of the night. On the way there we stopped for some Kona Mountain Coffee.. Barry asked us if we had ever been in a lava tube before.. just a few moments later we were pulled over, “here’s one!” So we got out to explore. I was the first to climb down into it – Jess followed and then Barry. We came to this opening where there was a crack in the lava above and we climbed up 15 feet or more. Barry scaled a rock wall to get up and over and I asked him if he thought I could make it, “of course you can, JP.” So in ‘slippahs’ and a skirt I climbed the wall and made it over. We found ourselves on top of this massive lava field and it was awesome.. must have been 10-15 feet taller than the actual road. We walked back to the van and waited for Jess to make her way out of the tube. So cool! We jumped in the van and headed for A’Bay..

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

There we saw the glowing goddess – Krista whom was waiting for us in the parking lot. Can I just say before anything else that I love Barry and Krista together. They’ve been together for about 20 years and the love they have together truly shows in the company that they keep with one another.. so I was excited to hang out with them sans kids for the day on this late afternoon. We had an awesome time – simply put. One where Jess and I had some lovely conversations about love and Hawaii and talking with Barry and Krista about their scope and how they feel living in Hawaii. They are great together. They have two really awesome kids, Zea and Manu. I’ve been babysitting them here and there – to help out any way I can. They have been great to me and vice versa – it’s been a very fair trade I’d say.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Barry talked about all these great places on the island that neither Jess nor I had been to yet so we declared adventure and everyone wholeheartedly agreed. In that instant I realized how awesome it was that I lived here. I have to be here.. not take one thing for granted .. to live and smile. I felt like I was accomplishing many great things by being here and I didn’t feel like it was time to go… and I wasn’t sure when that would be and I kind of liked it that way. It made me clue in on all the different decisions you can make in a lifetime and how each one leads you down a bright and sunny path.. with new places, new people and overall new beginnings which bring peace and clarity of mind. When the sun started making it’s way down over the Pacific Barry and Krista packed it up, grabbed each others hands and headed off in the sweetest glow to their fantastic night of a date and adventure. A little while later Jess and I followed in their lead and basked in those glorious pink streaming rays. We made our way over to the Kings Shops where there was said to be a little fish shanty on the lake where we could partake in some glorious Friday night feast and that’s exactly what we did.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We shared a meal of the freshest catch of the day and watched the koi beneath us swim circles through the water. “What the heck,” I said “I can’t believe we live here.” I find myself saying this a lot.. it was different then when I had first arrived – a new place – me a foreigner to this land and now I felt purposeful, full to the brim and ever the better. I felt needed and appreciated. I told Luke just a few days before that I didn’t have many expectations upon coming to Hawaii except to learn a lot about farming and to have a great experience. But now on top of that I have met a handful of people that I couldn’t imagine my life without. So in many moments of my day I catch myself smiling and appreciating all that I have in my life here.. I genuinely feel like I am l i v i n g each day with purpose and passion. The phrase “why think when you can just do it” speaks volumes to me each day – when I’m done with work and deciding what to do I just go with the flow and see where my heart strings pull me. I feel so good about my decision which makes me realize that much more that anything is possible. So after dinner, hand in hand Jess and I walked back to our big white van and enjoyed the freedom of having a car for the first time in two months…

photos courtesy of jess

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

