Happy 26th…

June 27, 2010– Ahh, twenty-six most blessed years to be on this Earth…. which makes me excited for the next twenty-six! It’s my first birthday that I’ve really spent alone and it’s not such a bad thing. I decided last week that it was important for me to go home and be near the ocean. I told Laura my thoughts and she graciously gave me Saturday off. So on Friday I hauled ass so I could leave there a tiny bit early from work in order to get on the road that night.. only to discover that I had left the keys in the ignition and drained my battery. Oops. I took it as a sign to slow down and I did. After about an hour or so the AAA guy came and I was on the road shortly thereafter. I had no worries as Lady Luna lit my way (as she was close to full) and I made it home with enough time to greet my parents with a hug and smooch before bed. It was so lovely to see them.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I woke up in a state of bliss – sunshine warmed me and made the trees glow. I heard my mom on the phone with my dad – he was on the hunt for avocados… “I thought he went fishing,” I said. “He changed his mind… instead he’s coming home to make you breakfast.” What the heck… it was unbearably sweet. A lobster, greens and veggie omelet which I feared for a moment because of the lobster ( the fear in making it too rich) but it was quite yummy. I spent the rest morning helping my folks outside and got some things done that had been hanging over my head since I got back from Hawaii.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We had all planned on going for a boat ride out of the bay side later that afternoon. I went to see Steph at Craig’s niece and nephew’s birthday party before picking up snacks for the boat ride. Once Steph arrived we all headed for the basin, even little Chloe joined us for this early evening adventure. We greeted the Jacqueline Suzanne and loaded her up with chairs, snacks and the five of us. I snapped a picture before we released her from the dock and headed out for the wide open seas. A calmness swept over the boat and I was happy we were all there together. Steph started to get a little teary eyed as we chugged down the canal. We saw dad’s buoys rocking in the wake as we passed and I felt her grievance as if each buoy that we passed was a tiny ‘mort.’ But she smiled… she just missed fishing and having her out there made me realize how much she cared about it too. She was a tough little lady and I was proud of her. I caught a moment and saw them embrace. click. They climbed up to the bow after my dad gave my mom a quick lesson behind the wheel. click. She looked beautiful at the helm. They were even so kind as to give us a sneak peek of the full moon (two of them even). We sailed past Sandy neck and coasted for a little while just past the beach. There was such a relaxed energy between us all with the music playing and the ocean dancing all around us. It was a great idea to go out there and I feel we need to do that more often.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

On the way back Steph drove us home. My dad asked my mom to the bow of the boat to which she replied, “No, I’ll fall.” “You won’t fall, Mom, come on and live a little…” So my dad helped her up on the rail and she made her way down to the front of the boat. They sat on top of the cabin and let their air blow in the breeze and their feet dangle and sway. Steph later directed me to look up and when I did I laughed for my mom looked quite relaxed but her right hang was gripping the railing just underneath her ever so tightly… but hey, at least she was up there! As we got into the canal the rain started to come down. We all got underneath the overhang and packed up our evening Powers adventure. Everything was perfect and still and as we tied her up we said our goodbyes until the next time. On the way home we made a pit-stop at the grocery store and headed home to grill some fresh tuna, sauteed greens, rice and sashimi tuna… yum! Everyone helped and we all enjoyed a meal outside on the porch on a late summer’s eve.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

After getting a brilliant nights sleep I awoke to see my mom baking me a cake. “Happy Birthday! I was the first to tell you,” she said. Oh mom.. I believe that mom’s should be the first to tell us Happy Birthday since they are the ones that bring us into this World and it felt great to hear it from her. To start the day off right I went down to the freezer and grabbed some frozen strawberries, raspberries and cranberries (all from the yard) to make myself an epic smoothie… of course banana and kale found there way in there as well. I decided I wanted to head to the outer Cape to go to the beach so I borrowed my mom’s bike and packed up a few things and headed out. I found myself in Eastham and parked at the Visitor’s Center at the Cape Cod National Seashore. I got on my trusty birthday steed and made my way to Nauset Light Beach (one of my favorites) for an early morning swim. It felt good to be on a bike on the Cape in the summertime and when I reached the beach I found myself perched up next to a fancy piece of driftwood admiring the sea. Funny to think that a year ago I was on the other coast enjoying a day at the beach as well. What a wondrous life this is…

As soon as I found a spot to nestle in I stripped down to my bathing suit and jumped right into the ocean (just after I had wished myself a happy birthday!) I sat on the beach and reflected on the past few months and the year in general. I had come a long way in my 26th year and I felt good and proud as I sat there on sandy shore. After all I had many things to look forward to especially my delicious birthday brunch with the fam.. french toast, berries, bacon and saucisse (for my carnivorous family), watermelon & fresh eggs! Mmm mmm my mom even made me a lemon cake and it was delicious! I love ma famille…. and for all those who weren’t physically there with me on my birthday I felt all your wishes and felt blessed to have you all in my lives..<3

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

