For My Par Par…

I woke up one morning this summer and couldn’t get up. I felt dizzy, tired and had the cold sweats. I tried to open my eyes but it didn’t work. I only had two days of work left but my body had given out. I called in work but I couldn’t even get out of bed. I called Rory and he suggested I reach out to someone ..”but I don’t have anyone.. I live alone in the woods..” and then I thought of her.. my piece of solitude in this place – Sara. She was out and about and of course she came right over with her homeopathic kit and accordion to fix me right up. She helped me walk to the house where she fixed me a berry smoothie and lead me back to my little house and played me accordion until I grew tiresome and she had band practice.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

All I could do for days was lie there and rest and with rest brought reflection. And for one of the first times in my life (I have met a few ladies in my time who also echo this sentiment) I felt I had met a lady that would meet me halfway and treat me exactly how I like to think I treat others. And we hadn’t even known each other that long (but it was as though we had already known each other for many lifetimes over). It was pure and real and I will never forget such kindness.. without hesitation she was by my side.

For a few weeks prior I was waking up in the mornings with “trigger finger” – the stiffness and the pain was unlike anything I felt before. It got to the point where I couldn’t even write or play guitar. Basically using my hands at all became a chore to the point where I even had limited use at work which made me confident in my decision to leave FGF.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

So my last two days in the Berkshires I spent lying in bed willing myself to feel better. I even scheduled an appointment to have a medical massage in town. I already knew my body was tight everywhere (judging how my body was reacting) and I needed rest and plenty of it. So, I packed up my stuff and made my way back home to the Cape where I spent the next week with my fingers in stints and taking it easy. I had some wonderful last nights in the Berks though – grabbed some Indian dinner with Val, Sara and Desiree, went to open mic at the Gypsy Joynt and made homemade pizza with Ms. Parrilli.

Ah, but Ms. Parrilli… Our days always seemed brighter when we were blessed in spending them together. I brought her chocolate at work one early evening and told her I’d see her soon. I went to Viv & Sara’s housewarming party and made my chocolate earth balls to all the ladies delight! We visited the Book Barn nestled in the woods and went hiking at Bash Bish Falls. We climbed Monument Mountain to enjoy the view overlooking Great Barrington. A couple of time we drove to NY to dance, laugh and sing. We spent many a night making dinner and many a morning drinking coffee and enjoying our Sunday mornings together… Sara and I made the most of our limited time together. She knew me and I knew her and it’s a beautiful thing when you don’t have to try. How is it that we find such soul mates? I may never really know… but what I do know is that we were brought together by magic, music, poetry & clowns & the love of growing things…. and what more is there really…?

Some of the pictures below taken by the lady herself, Ms. Parrilli

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

