A Very Tasty Treat..

So, the other day my mom came home from work and said, “I’m thinking of baking a cake..I’ve just been craving a piece all day.” I have to say I was intrigued because I had been planning on baking my chocolate vegan cupcakes for a moustache hangout I was going to the next day. But I was deterred because someone else was bringing cupcakes so I decided to make something else. So, my ears perked upon hearing my Mom say she’d like cake because that meant I could make my cupcakes after all!

I don’t know how or why but my Mom isn’t the biggest fan of avocado (I have to admit as a child I wasn’t all that crazy for the texture either) but it’s definitely become one of my favorite fruits especially after living in Hawaii. So the secret and most important ingredient of this cupcake is avocado. And I know what you might be thinking, “avocado in baked goods…???” But trust me it’s amazing. I actually use avocado in most of my baking to substitute for oil. One of my favorite recipes I use it in is my Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Avocado Cookies… YUM. Makes everything moist and fluffy… really you can’t go wrong! And my Mom… well let’s just say that she adored them.. enjoy!

Chocolate Vegan Cupcakes
2 cups flour (I use spelt flour a lot of the time for baking because it’s not as dense as wheat but if not I do 1/2 white 1/2 wheat)
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. flax seed
3/4 cup mashed ripe avocado
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1/3 oil
1 tsp. vanilla
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate (melted) or if you’re using cocoa powder it’s 3 tbsp. cocoa to 1 tbsp. earth balance or other butter substitute
1 1/3 cup rice milk

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and leave aside. Next add all wet ingredients in a bowl and mix. I used a hand held to cream the avocados with the sugar but whatever works for you. Combine ingredients together. Heat the chocolate up on a double boiler on the stove until melted and add it to the mix. Oil your cupcake/muffin tin and fill them about half-3/4 of the way (depending on how big you like your cupcakes). This recipe makes a few dozen medium sized cupcakes.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes and cool for 10 minutes. And truly, what’s a cupcake without its frosting…

Homemade Chocolate Frosting
1 Avocado
2 cups vegan powdered sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. rice milk
1/3 cup cocoa powder
dash of salt

Cream sugar and avos with a blender first and then add the rest of the ingredients.

This entry was posted in baked goods. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Very Tasty Treat..

  1. sheila spalding says:

    You’ve been holding out on me!!! What other tasty chocolate recipes do you have? This one is practically health food with all of those avacados. E is going to love it!

  2. Pingback: The Derby Party at The Bramble… | dame de fleur

Leave a Reply

