Let the beauty you love be what you do..

A wave of inspiration has taken its hold on me the past few weeks and I thought I would share a few books that have guided me to new or forgotten forms of creative expression in hopes that you too might also be inspired…

There are a hundred ways to kneel and kiss the ground. Let the beauty you love be what you do. – Jalal ad-Din Rumi

______________________________________________________________

PRINT WORKSHOP

First, there’s Print Workshop: Hand Printing Techniques & Truly Original Projects by Christine Schmidt that I bought for only $13 at Powell’s Bookstore the other day. Some cool stuff covered in here on relief printing, stencil printing, sun printing, and image transfer printing with over 30 different projects to try… exciting!

Hand printing has always been at the top of my list for things to learn so I was excited to stumble upon this book. It was one of the few forms offered at my college that I didn’t get to take a course in. C’est la vie. My head and heart were too wrapped up around film and photography anyway. I figure now is a better time than ever especially since we have a big crafting room downstairs. I declare Wednesday nights – the night of the print! Who wants to come over?

______________________________________________________________

ASHLEY WOOD

Then there’s Ashley Wood.. an amazingly talented illustrator that combines traditional painting techniques, with digital photography and graphic software. His content, use of color and style are all breathtaking and beautiful. I could sit and look at his art for hours. We have two of his books here in our art collection, F.I. and Tre Tarino.

The emotion he is able to capture in paintings is truly a gift. I especially love his paintings of women (most were all perhaps a little racy for some tastes, not mine, to post here on my blog) but I recommend going out to your local graphic novel or comic book store to check him out. Awesome & inspiring work that makes me want to paint and create!






_____________________________________________________________

EDWARD ST. JOHN GOREY

Last, but surely not least is Elegant Enigmas: The Art of Edward Gorey, a lovely collection of Gorey’s finest work as well as rare work I’ve never seen. Every time I look at Gorey’s work I can’t help but marvel in awe over the intricate technique and method that truly is his art form. From the finely shaded and detailed costumes to the meticulously cross hatched backgrounds I am always inspired by his finely detailed pen-and-ink work.

In the book I even found some hand drawn envelopes which he sent to his mother while attending Harvard University. They were beautiful and amazing and I couldn’t image receiving one in the mail… absolutely wondrous! Sooo wondrous in fact that I have been doing 30 minute sketches everyday to hone in on any drawing skills that I may have left within me (it has been a while since I’ve drawn anything). Rory even volunteered to give me a few still life/figure drawing lessons and I couldn’t be more excited! Here’s to art and inspiration!


_____________________________________________________________

This entry was posted in inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the beauty you love be what you do..

  1. Woah! So much inspiration. Thank you — my artist block needed this!

Leave a Reply

