Beet Brownies & Shim Shammin’

I just can’t help myself.. the Shim Sham makes me want to bake.  On Sunday night it was Cowgrrrl Cookies and last night it was a batch of deliciously moist Beet Brownies aka heaven.

It all started this past Friday when Rory and I went to the Friday night Swing Social at the Studio where I’m taking swing lessons.  My instructor, Melissa (who is just the cutest thing) spent the hour before the social teaching us how to do the Shim Sham.  It was awesome!  The Sham is a line dance that originated from a 1920’s tap dance routine which was originally called the Goofus.  I’ve been doing a lot of partner dance in the last few months so it was nice to dance freely on my own for a change.  Plus, having taken tap dance for 7+ years this line dance was right up my alley and I’ve been dancin’ the shim sham ever since.

This video is worth the watch just for the instructor… “a ho ho” – he’s feeling the shim sham just as much as I am…. “Let’s do some Shim Shammin’!”

So, when I returned home from my last beginner swing lesson (onto the newer, tougher class next week) I got the urge to put on T’Aint What You Do and Shim Sham it up in the kitchen…which only meant one thing…

BEET BROWNIES

Sooo, how about we shake off those winter blues with a little dancin’ & bakin’ in the warmth of your kitchen…

3 ounces (1/3 of a cup) Semisweet Chocolate
1 cup Beet Puree
1/2 cup Light/Dark Brown Sugar, firmly packed
1/4 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
2 tablespoons Earth Balance
2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
1/4 cup Unsweetened Applesauce
3/4 cup Spelt Flour
3/4 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 cup Walnuts, chopped (optional)
1/2 teaspoon Salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Lightly grease an 8 inch square pan. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler or over a very low flame. As it starts to melt stir it well until smooth.

2. Chop up a beet and put it into the blender or food processor with a little bit of water. It’s a puree so you want it to be as smooth as possible so add water in little by little until you get a smoother consistency.

3. Put the melted chocolate into a bowl and add the beet puree, sugar, cocoa powder, margarine, vanilla and unsweetened applesauce and whisk it well until the mixture is smooth and creamy.

4. Stir in the flour, baking powder, chopped walnuts and salt. Pour the batter into your prepared pan and baked for 30 – 40 minutes. Allow brownies to cool for 10 minutes before eating…

Enjoy them by themselves or pair them with some ice cream or frozen yogurt for an out of this World delicious treat! Mm mm mm!  I reckon it’ll send some energy right down to those dancin’ toes…  😉

This entry was posted in baked goods, in the kitchen, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beet Brownies & Shim Shammin’

  1. Julie P Fife says:

    Hi Jess, I just finished making your Cowgrrrl Cookies, substituting almond flour for spelt (I didn’t have any), and agave nectar for sugar, which meant a little less apple sauce and 325 oven. I also didn’t have raisins, so used dried cranberries….yummy!!! Fred and I took swing lessons a few years ago…it’s so much fun…we’re a little rusty, but did pretty well at the last wedding we attended!

  2. I just can’t help myself either… Miss cute-as-a-button shim-shammin’ brownie baker. I might be inspired enough to bake myself something this evening if I’m not sewing the dress I have in mind…

  3. If I could I would nest in your blog.

Leave a Reply

