Farmy Thoughts & Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies..

I had a great working farm interview on Sauvie Island yesterday and returned home in happy spirits. It couldn’t have been a better day for reacquainting myself with getting my hands dirty. The sky was as blue as could be while the clouds, white and puffy, sat atop the glorious snow capped mountains. The farm seemed to stretch on forever with flocks of geese over head enjoying the beautiful February day. I spent the afternoon processing carrots for some local restaurants and talking about all aspects of farming with the crew leader at the farm. It was awesome and I couldn’t have imagined spending my day any other way.

It was such a positive experience just to visit the farm and I felt grateful that it could potentially be a place I might further explore later this season.  As I drove away from the farm (thank you Emily & Kevin for letting me borrow your car!) I had a big smile on my face and a clear mind. I felt like the farmers were genuinely interested in me and my goals and wanted me to figure out what was going to be the best next step for me. It helped me to weigh the options, prioritize and really evaluate where I’m at and where I want to be. I feel like it really gave me some clear head space for writing and thinking for the upcoming weekend. Needless to say when I returned home I was filled with positive energy and couldn’t wait to get in the kitchen and bake up a storm (and try out my new apron).

I really wanted to make Emily & Kevin some delicious baked goods to thank them for the hassle they saved me by lending me their car. After much deliberation I finally decided on Vegan with a Vengeance’s, Big Gigantoid Crunchy Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Cookies and let me tell you that they are pretty freakin’ awesome! Next time I make them I might tweak the recipe a wee bit to include less sugar but until then I will share the deliciousness that is…

CRUNCHY PEANUT BUTTER-OATMEAL COOKIES

makes about 12 big cookies or a few dozen regular sized cookies

2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups rolled oats
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup chunky all natural peanut butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
*1/2 cup+ chocolate chips (I added this in.. what’s PB w/o chocolate?)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Toss together the flour, oats, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the oil, peanut butter, sugars, soy milk, and vanilla.

2. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix. For perfectly round, large cookies: pack a 1/3-cup measuring cup with dough, pop out and roll the dough into a firm ball and flatten just barely on a prepared cookie sheet (to 1/2 in. thickness), spacing the dough balls well apart. Bake for about 12 to 15 minutes till cookies have puffed a bit and are lightly browned.

3. Or, you can also make normal-size cookies using 1 to 2 tablespoons of dough instead, baking these 8 to 10 minutes.

 

This entry was posted in baked goods, farmgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

