Southwestern Black Bean Burgers..

I’ve been meaning to try out this Black Bean Burger recipe from my Moosewood Cookbook and decided to go for it the day when I returned home from my lovely farming adventure.  In the morning, before I left, I soaked one cup of dried black beans (two cups when soaked) so they were ready to go by the time 6 o’clock dinner-time rolled around.

What I really enjoyed about these burgers is the harmonious pairing of spices and vegetables and how lovely they all tasted together. I was also really surprised by how much you could taste the corn chips (in a good way) and how the mushrooms gave them a delicious and tender ‘meatiness’. I found that they pair nicely with some homemade guac (my favorite) and spicy ketchup.  I also imagine this would be pretty great in a wrap or even in some kind of Southwestern styled green salad.  It made 7 good sized patties which means a few nights worth of dinners and/or lunches.  You could also serve it on toast with lettuce, alfalfa sprouts, tomatoes, salsa or cheese…

These burgers were pretty darn tasty and I think I’ll be throwing them into the regular rotation every couple of weeks…

Enjoy!

SOUTHWESTERN BLACK BEAN BURGERS

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onions
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon salt
dash of ground pepper
1 cup finely grated mushrooms
1 cup grated carrots
1/3 – 1/2 cup corn
1 fresh chile, minced or 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 cup orange juice
1 cup ground tortilla chips
2 15 ounce cans black beans – rinsed and drained (I used 1 cup dried beans)
1 large egg, lightly beaten

*If you are using dried beans… let them sit in water over night or during the day before you want to use them.

1. Warm the oil in the skillet on med-high heat. Add the onions and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. Stir in the cumin, coriander, salt, and pepper and cook until the onions soften (a couple of minutes). Add the mushrooms, carrots, chiles/cayenne, corn and orange juice, lower the heat to medium, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender (about 8 minutes).

2. While the vegetables cook, whirl the tortilla chips in a food processor until they reach the consistency of coarse meal. Add in the beans and eggs and pulse (or you can use a potato masher) and then transfer to a bowl. When the vegetables are tender, stir into the bean mixture.

3. For the burger into 6 patties (I made 7) and place onto a lightly oiled baking sheet. Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 25 minutes, until firm and lightly crusted.

This entry was posted in in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Southwestern Black Bean Burgers..

  1. Danne says:

    dan and I have some of these in the oven right now, mmmm

Leave a Reply

