The Beauty That Surrounds Us…

There’s something about sharing your love of a place with friends that reminds you of all the beauty that surrounds you every day…

I just had a wonderful week filled with those moments…

Seems as if I’ve been a bit MIA from the internet this past week and it’s for a very good reason… my girl, Miss Jessie Lee & friends were visiting the Pacific Northwest for the very first time (she had been to Seattle.. but never to Portland).  Jess brought along her love, Gage and their very good friend, Jesse to take in the sights and enjoy a nice, sweet, little vacation.

I thought it was brave of them to arrange a vacation during the NW soggy spring weather, especially, from their warm and sunny Austin, Texas but they made the most of it and we even had ourselves a few sunny days after all.  It was really nice to have some lovely folks around to spend some of my time with.  I’ve been enjoying a pretty peaceful winter filled with lots of solitude, so it was nice to show some new faces the things I love about this part of the country (especially after they had all been so kind to show me around their beloved city of Austin).

We spent lots of time walking through the NE & SE neighborhoods to admire the lush green yards and sweet smelling flowers.  There were also plenty of delicious meals, fine brews, and coffee and homemade cookies to be had while they were here.  We decided to have a home cooked meal at the house, so, Jesse and I decided to have a cook off with our signature pizzas (which turned out to be two totally different styled pizzas).  I made my signature, fully loaded Mag Pow pizza while Jesse made a dynamite homemade rosemary-wheat crusted pizza topped with gorgonzola, red onions sauteed with honey, and an olive oil, rosemary, garlic drizzle and they were both delish!  The house was oh-so-warm and cozy that night with love and inspired us (per request of our guests) to sing and play them one of my new songs.  Jesse followed up with one of his songs he will be playing at the Cotton House show back in Austin and Jess ending the night by giving us all live belly dance performance (which was awesome to say the least!)

Oh, how the time that they were here surely flew by.. and just as I was adjusting to them being here they were off on their way to Seattle.  <sigh> I suppose that’s how it goes but I definitely enjoyed the magical moments we were able to share while they were here.  Surely, two of the most magical moments of their visit was our trip east to the falls and then out west to the coast!  Rory’s truck (which he recently bought & will tell you more about later!) was back from the garage so Jess, Rory and I were able to take it 30 miles east to the Columbia River Gorge, the home of many beautiful waterfalls, lush forests, snow covered mountains and many-a-magical rainbow.  Our breath was taken away more than once on this trip so I will let the photos do most of the talking…

p.s. Thanks for coming guys!  I’m so glad you could make it and share some of the magic the Pacific NW has to offer…
The view from the top of Chanticleer Point…
I spy the white dome of the Vista House…
I spy a rain storm making it’s way across the Columbia River..

there’s a rainbow forming over Jess…
Into the woods we go…
There’s just something about these trees.. I can’t take my eyes off of them..
Walls upon walls of vines and ferns…
So much texture… and the fresh smell of the forest floor…
Oh, hello, beauty… this one’s Wahkeena Falls..
Catching plump raindrops and coincidentally imitating the flow of the falls..
Such beauty is found in the sounds of rushing water and stone…
So many knotted expressions..
A moment of thoughtfulness…
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, love & fun, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

