Back on the Cod…

When I think of home…

Well, I’ve been back home on the Cape for a little over a week and a half now and it feels pretty awesome.  The sun has been out and we’ve been blessed with some really nice weather… so I guess this means that Spring has finally sprung in the NE (better late than never)!  I’ve been getting TONS done with my dad around the house, in the gardens and creatively on my own time and that feels really good as well.   It feels so energizing to get my body moving again, my hands dirty and to be outside comfortably in a t-shirt.  I guess that’s why I have been spending less time on the internet…I’ve even gone days with out it and it feels really good that winter is finally over (reminds me of my days in Hawaii when I didn’t even have a computer).

There’s just lots of good energy happening and I couldn’t be more pumped about the summer ahead!  Here are some photos from the past week & a half…

A view of my parents house when you first drive in… spring has sprung!
Look at all those glorious primroses!
The Jacqueline Suzanne… awaiting it’s launch in just a few weeks…
The flower garden has been tilled..
The grape arbor.. can’t wait for the grapes!
Fixin’ up the veggie bed in the yard, movin’ our perennial daisies and workin’ the soil!
New asparagus has been planted…
The sweet peas are sprouting up…
Gettin’ my beeswear on…
Time to check on the bees, clean up the hives, and find the queen!
We picked up our  new bee colonies from the Barnstable County Beekeeper’s Association..
I loved the impressions left on our nucleus boxes…
Mmm mmm… fresh honey!
I miss my PDX chicks but I’m happy to see my hometown gals…
We even got ourselves a handsome, young rooster…
Burnin’ brush and snackin’ on apples…
Our 40 foot cold frame with panes made 3 generations ago (so cool)…
This baby generates so much heat I’m convinced to build a home underground!
Our acre lot in Osterville…
4 dump truck loads of compost & awaiting a few more…
Can’t explain the excite the ran through my body when the trucks were driving in!
Our other gardens in Marstons Mills freshly tilled…
Let the planting begin (beets, chard, tyee spinach & stuttgarter onions)…
There go the onions…
Oh, hello, my lovely garlics… we shall go to the seaside to fetch you some marsh hay in no time…
This entry was posted in farmgirl, inspiration, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

