A New Year, Another Season…

There she goes, the Jacqueline Suzanne rollin’ down our driveway on Monday morning…

The launch of the Jacqueline Suzanne happened just a few days ago and I was happy to bear witness to the start of my dad’s fishing season.  It’s been a tough past few years, for our fisherman, but my dad has been hanging in there and making the most of it, year after year.  I was happy to oblige when my dad asked me to join him on the ride from Princess Cove over to Oyster Harbors where he’d be docking to gear up for sea bass season.

There wasn’t a cloud in the sky and it was the most perfect day for a first-of-the-season ride on the boat.  The day reminded me of the many times I had taken this ride before, on both the Jessica Lynne and now, the Jacqueline Suzanne.  The sea sparkeled emerald green blue and the trees danced with freshly budded branches.  The houses looked out over the cove and a swan slept in the rolling waves.  It was absolutely lovely.

A lovely view of the marsh from Oyster Harbors..

The next day, I helped my dad fix up 2 loads of his wooden sea bass pots, bring them to the dock and load them on the boat.  I joined him in taking out a load of 42 pots and watched them fall into the water, one by one, and sink beneath the waves.  I only wish I had better sea legs for those choppier days on the boat but I guess it comes with time (it just takes so much out of me to go through it some days).  But I’m happy to share these moments with my dad.  There’s nothing like being around him when he’s fishing.  He belongs out there on the sea.

Despite the aggravations of season limits, the price of gas, and the price of his catch, he still goes out there with the best intentions of doing what he does best.  He’s an animal when it comes to working hard and he is the strongest, most intelligent man that I know.  I’m honored to spend my time with him because if I learn half of what he knows, I know I will always be able to take care of myself.  Cheers and blessings to you dad and your 2011 fishing season…. ♥

Gettin’ ready to load her up!

Calm, crrystal clear waters are waiting…

Here she comes!  Plunging into Princess Cove..

Found her way back.. a new year, another season…

First ride and she’s sounding pretty good!

Oyster Harbors, here we come…

A sweet little cottage on the seaside.. can I live here?

A swan snoozing on the mellow seas…

A castle on the seaside.. how many months of the year do you think they live there?

We made it in one piece to the harbor…

Seeing this draw bridge immediately put me back in to the days of my childhood…

Her home for a month or so…

Reflections in the boat yard…

A forgotten mushroom mooring in the bushes…
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

