The Derby Party at The Bramble…

The Bramble at the magic hour….

Since I’ve been home I haven’t really stopped “doing stuff” since I arrived from Portland 3 1/2 weeks ago.  From 8am until 7pm every day my dad and I have been getting so much done around the house and the gardens (all 4 of them) that when I finally come into the house all I want to do is eat dinner, stretch and relax.  I’ve always enjoyed that part about farming, how it’s so uneasy to unwind because your productivity has been so high all day.  It’s definitely helped me to be a better, more patient person too, that makes more time to practice the guitar, read a book or sit there and write for hours.  It’s taught me to fall in love with all these things all over again.

But as easy as it is to go about my day, work hard and get a lot of things done, every once in a while I know I should get out, socialize and dress up pretty.  So, when Kiley invited me to her First Annual Derby Party at the Bramble I knew I had to go.  I was out in the garden all morning and stacking firewood before I came in and made a double batch of my Chocolate-Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes .  I ran upstairs, washed the dirt from under my nails and picked out an outfit.  Rain delay at the Bramble.  Don’t come right at 3.  Perfect,  I thought, I have more time to frost my cakes and could put a few extra minutes into looking half way decent.  So, I pinned a few strands of hair, did up my eyes, found my hat box containing the lovely derby-ish hat Mandi bought me for my birthday years ago, and voila, I was ready to enjoy mint juleps and big hats on the lawn.

Gettin’ my derby on with a birthday gift from 5 years back…

It was a pleasure to find myself at The Bramble – a small cottage tucked away amongst the trees (and brambles) off Rt. 6A in West Barnstable.  Perfection, really, especially with summer headed our way.  It was also no surprise to me that in perfect Kiley fashion everything was set up in and around The Bramble just so.  There was a chalkboard sign welcoming guests, a fire pit complimented by blue lawn chairs, red roses and bramble inspired twinkle lights, a table of lemonade, mint juleps and chilly beverages on the porch and inside, where it was warm and light, the delicious aromas of home cooked food filled the space and you couldn’t help from noticing the beautiful decorating skills of our lovely and talented hostess.

The gals even fashioned together a garland made of red paper, buttons and pipe cleaners for the winner of the race, Animal Kingdom, who was voted on by Mr. Bobby Price.

How friggen adorable is this woman?  They come too far and too few these days…

The whole afternoon into the evening was perfect.  I was able to reconnect with old friends and acquaintances and even meet some new ones!  It’s always inspiring to talk with people about their loves and interests and listen to yours.  Also, I have to admit that it was fun to dress up and play the part of Kentucky Derby-ites.  Looking around and seeing dress shirts, big hats and red lips was certainly an awesome way to spend a Sunday because everyone looked dynamite.  Dressing up has always been fun for me, and I’m always up for the opportunity, which makes me think I should start farming in costume but we’ll see about that…

Cheers to Kiley for putting together an amazingly fun party, to the friends, new and old, that I look forward to seeing in the future when I give myself some time to be social again…And special kudos to Tony Freitas who single-handedly gathered kindling amidst the brambles and started a most perfect derby fire.

My party garb: a thrifted lace dress, gifted hat & an old sweater…

Homemade Chocolate-Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes… yes please!

The Bramble warmly welcoming it’s guests…

The cute fire pit in front of the house…

Refreshments, anyone?

Homemade lemonade and mint juleps! (look Martha the candle is lit!)

Our hostess doing her thing… (photo by Michelle)

Ms. McCarthy and her deviled egg spread…

Inside it was as light and bright as it could be… (and warm too)

Salty and sweet treats…

Socializing on the deck…

The ever classy, Michelle, modeling her “antipasto hat”…

Amazing!  Check out that salami…

Kentucky Derby babes…

I loved seeing and talking to these guys…

Kiley’s pretty bramble…

Presenting the garland to the winner (Yukimi’s face is amazing here!)

A very pleasing eye from our hostess…

The winner, Mr. Bobby Price…

The winner and his very lovely lady, Leah…

Schmoozing deck side… (photo by Michelle)

Some “candid” shots of the beautiful lady of the bramble…

The look, the feather, the drink… she has got it all folks…

The true winners circle…

Leah’s pretty gerbera daisy…
Keeping warm by the fire with lots of laughs and interesting conversation (thanks Tony!)… (photo by Michelle)

The pretty Hawaiian girl trying to acclimate to the NE weather…

Pouring drinks on the lawn… now that’s service!

And tasty too!

Everything was perfectly pretty…

The sky grew dark and the brambles were illuminated (with lovely touches by Tony)…

Such a classy lady…

And a little bit of magic that always comes out at night…
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Derby Party at The Bramble…

  1. Gram says:

    A lovely party with such grand friends…you really did a splendid job…Kiley..and all your friends…loved looking at the pictures…and The Bramble…lots of love

  2. Ellen says:

    Ok, can I please say, that I live vicariously through Kiley. I have ALWAYS admired women who could decorate, entertain, invent, and inspire. Kiley is IT! Secondly, I thank you, dame de fleur, for presenting the party in such a beautiful way; from the writing to the glorious pictures!
    KUDOS and CHEERS to both of you!
    love love

Leave a Reply

