Summer is a-comin’…

A nice thorough rain was welcomed with open arms…

Things have definitely been warming up since June started in the NE (and all over the states apparently).  That month of rain in May seems like, a long time ago, as we’ve been enjoying full out sunshine, blue skies and 70 degree days (some even creeping up to the 80’s).  It honestly feels more like mid to late summer weather with the high temps, humidity and heat lightning-thunderstorms we’ve been having on and off.  The mugginess finally broke through yesterday, when we experienced a wonderful downpour this morning, which was followed by a giant thunder, lightning and rain storm this evening.  I had been hoping for days that we would get a good dose of rain, as the plants were begging for a deep soak, and I greeted the rain with very welcome arms.

Despite the hot, summer-like weather, we’ve managed to get a lot done with the help of our giant straw hats and many-a-water breaks, and it feels good to get a lot accomplished.  So far, we’ve planted a few hundred or more tomatoes, peppers, eggplant transplants and seeded in our next round of beets, carrots, green beans, summer squash, winter squash and cucumbers.  (For local folks, we have lots of green ready and available to buy now: kale, collards, chard, lettuce and mesclun are all ready for the picking…)

Rory, after a hard day of working out in the sun… yeah!

My dad and I have also had the lovely help of, Mr. Rory Magnus, who arrived back on the Cape almost a week ago and has been hard at work at helping us get everything in the ground.  We made some incredible headway thanks to his help and, as always, it has been wonderful being in his company.

We have also inherited another half dozen chicks from a batch of our own chicken eggs.  My dad’s friend was borrowing the incubator, so, my dad put in a few of our eggs and lo and behold we now have 6 new baby chicks, who are all quite adorable.  Most of them are white with black spots, one even has a purple-ish beak and feet (which I call, ‘yetti’), while two others have the Cochin feathers on their feet like their daddy.

My little flock of baby chicks… intimidation factor..

My first round of chicks are now in their teenager years and love to run freely in the yard, chasing down winter moth worms, and scouting out ant farms.  They still all flap their wings big and boldly when I let them out, as if something is behind them, chasing them out into the sunshine.  I’m most amused, in the late afternoons-early evenings, when I go to check in on them, they often fly onto my arms (or sometimes my head) and perch there until I say otherwise.  Just call me the bird lady.

So, although some days I feel as though they don’t remember me or have better things to do (they really are teenagers), it’s those funny little moments when I know there’s a connection and dependency there.  That when they hear me coming in the early morning hours with food and all flock together and can hardly stand waiting for me to open the door that they are happy little chickies.

I can’t get over how much they’ve grown in a month and a half…

Yesterday, my dad picked up an severely injured chicken from Cape Cod Organic Farm.  In the early morning hours they found her outside with her entire right leg missing (some kind of predator must have ripped it clear off).  They had her in one of the greenhouses when my dad was there picking up some Pumpkin Seeds.  They were not sure if they could keep up with her recovery process (as they have over 500 chickens), so, without hesitation my dad said, “Between my daughter and I we might just save her.”  A few volunteers down there were calling her the miracle chicken.  I sure hope she is.  She was attentive and alert when she arrived at our house and was eating and drinking up a storm.  Her body had already self healed and scabbed over but only time will tell if she will be able to function on one leg.  Whatever the outcome, she’s our little ray of hope and I hope she’s able to pull through.

June has been off to a great start and it can only get better with the opening of the little farm stand, fresh veggies, healthy chicks and my golden birthday (I turn 27 on the 27th this year!)  And for you locals, I hope to have my pseudo-stand open with greens this weekend, so if you’re around please stop on by and say hello!

Dear Prudence… our newest addition and hopeful survivor..
Fresh picked strawberries from our patch…
Dad snacking on an apple in the shade…
Progress… with some tomatoes in and the field plowed in it’s entirety..
Greens at the homestead…. yum!
Lovely mesclun mix.. ready for the taking..
The leaves grow to be the size of your face… can’t buy these at the grocery store!
Beets are bulking up and lookin’ good…
Progress… peps and even more tomatoes planted…
Half of our peps are planted as well as another round of my dad’s delicious carrots…
Potatoes!  My how quickly they grow…
Big beautiful chard…
The tomatoes are fruiting.. so exciting!
It’s getting there…
Fresh eggs of all colors and sizes…
One of the chicks full of excitement…
Check out those feathers on it’s feet… so cute!
Psyched about the rainfall and thunder storms…
Scared and intrigued all at the same time by the crazy lightning bolts & thunder boomers happening..
This entry was posted in farmgirl, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

