Seaside Serenity…

A most perfect sun lit moment on Sandy Neck beach in Barnstable…

What’s the start of summer without a few late afternoon trips to the beach?  I say, with the summer solstice almost upon us, it’s time to celebrate the season!  Whether it’s a sunset walk on the beach or a late afternoon ocean side dunk it reminds me of why I love the place where I live.

The Cape has dozens and dozens of beautiful beaches, all diverse in their own right and glorious to explore.  One of my favorites is just a few moments down ol’ Route 6A, from my house, called Sandy Neck.  Despite it’s name it’s really rocky, rather than sandy, but the rocks are some of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen.  It’s surrounded by 4,700 acres of sand dunes and picturesque salt marshes… and it’s one of my favorite places to star gaze or watch the sun go down.  Hoards of people venture here in the summertime with their 4WD and camp out on the beach for nights at a time (and why wouldn’t you)?

But for me, I’ll enjoy the quiet seaside before the 4th of July weekend when 1,000’s of tourists flood our beaches.  When it’s just me and a few other people enjoying the serenity and calm of the brilliant place we call home.

The inviting glow of the boardwalk…

The feeling of summer captured in a tiny instant…

Sun going down over the canal…

There’s beauty and peace in solitude…

A rock pit from nights past…

A magical halo in the sky…

Rocks & blue…

Rocky, sun lit shadows…

The north side in all it’s sun glowing hazy glory…

The dunes and their protectors of erosion (beach grass)…

Snail trails in the dunes…

And a few bird tracks to boot…

The best smelling seaside roses you will ever smell…

Oh, home is whenever I’m with you…
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seaside Serenity…

  1. You will see soon (if not already) how you have answered my question with this.
    When can I come?
    LOVE,
    me

Leave a Reply

