27.

June 27, 2011

Once again the whirlwind of time scoops me up and places me here on the 27th, the day that I was born.  This year I’m celebrating my golden birthday, 27 on the 27th, which is a year I’ve been positively looking forward to for a while now.  Birthdays aren’t too different from most other days except that you get to be overwhelmingly good to yourself and receive all sorts of love, encouragement and positive thoughts from all the people in the World that you have the pleasure of knowing and in some way have been touched by.  It’s hard to measure success, especially because it’s relative to certain situations, but I generally listen to how I feel and I have to say, at this point and time, I feel pretty good about things.

Sure there are certain things I have yet to accomplish as a young adult (financial stability, my own place to call home, bills paid off etc etc) but I know those are things that will come with time (perhaps).  Either way, I’m building that effort through my love of all things so at the end of the day I can take care of myself (mentally, physically, spiritually, emotionally).  Through it all, I’ve learned a lot about myself this past year.  In my efforts of taking chances, I have met some really lovely people, connected to places new and old, and (re)discovered new loves and favorite past times.

I fought past uncertainty and went for the plunge when I moved back east in my attempts to keep on the path with heart and the life less ordinary.  Unforeseen issues have already come and gone and reappeared yet again, but just like anything, you live, learn, and try to figure it all out.  Life sometimes has a way of doing that on its own when you’re able to let go and just be in the moment.

It has already been very rewarding coming back home, breathing in new energy to the place that means so much and the people whom love gives meaning.  Relationships are in full bloom and every day is a new adventure.  Now, the summer is finally upon us, encouraging us once again to take that step forward, to try something new and to trust ourselves.

And so, once again, I make promises to myself that I hold near and dear to my heart.  To reach for my dreams, take hold of them and make them my goals and my reality.  I realize that we can only live one day at a time but it’s always good to have something to look forward to.  So, thank you friends for your warm birthday wishes last week.  I hold you all in the sweetest of my thoughts and feel blessed to know each and every one of you.  Because of you I am a better person… and that’s something to celebrate.

Magic. Love. Adventure. Happiness. 27.
Brightness.
Nauset Light Sunrise.  Hot Java & tunes.  Need I say more?
Beach to ourselves (besides the seals & surfers..)
My favorite kind of crowd to play for..
A beach going cowboy?
It’s amazing to think that these waves travel all the way across the Atlantic before hitting our shoreline.
A Birthday reset in the refreshingly cool waters. (I still have sand in my hair from one glorious wave)
Lightness.
I took this picture.  But I still don’t think it’s real.
Caught swinging from trees.
Back to the sea for a late afternoon swim.
Make a wish.
Don’t think too hard.
Thar’ she blows!
Homemade carrot cake *YUM*!
Rory definitely approves!
And, the lady whom is responsible for a great many things in my life (including the carrot cake).
This entry was posted in inspiration, life, love & fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 27.

  1. Sara says:

    Happy birthday and that surf looks soooooooo nice 😉 Looks like you had a dreamy, wonderful day. Mine is coming up and I hope it involves catching some waves with precious ones, chattin’ up the seals, and raspberries~ I’m on the outer cape and found your blog through Tamar’s. I’m a surfsister, dirt-under-my-nails kind of human too. Stop by MountainWave Tribe if you get the chance. Blessings to your day and your 27th year, as it unfolds unfolds unfolds~

Leave a Reply

