Homemade Coleslaw

I’ve never been a big coleslaw fan. Perhaps because every time I’ve ever had it has been a “if I’m still hungry” part of the meal. I just remember rubbery cabbage and lots of mayo (you get the idea). Well, all that changed the other night when I picked this beautiful baby from the garden. Back in May we thought it was a left over collard so we planted it at the end of the onion row to see what would happen. Sure enough no bugs, worms or other pests bothered it (you know if there was an entire row of cabbage that would not be the story, right?) and a few months later we were harvesting it.  My dad actually said it was a cabbage all along… how did he know?

What to do.. what to do. My dad loves coleslaw so I decided to revamp the slaw of my yesteryears and give it a little pep. We still have half the cabbage left (it was a big’un) & it’s so tender I know it’ll just end up among our greens in our salads until it’s gone.  <tear> At least it’s inspired me to maybe give a shot at growing maybe a whole row next year (and perhaps I’ll just place one at the end of each different veggie row..hehe).

HOMEMADE COLESLAW

1 carrot
2 small turnips
1/2 large cabbage
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp ground mustard
1/4 cup dijon mustard
1/4 cup homemade or store bought mayo
Couple shakes of whole mustard seed & celery seed
2 tbsp sesame oil
1 cup chopped parsley
1/2 lemon juice
salt & pepper to taste

*I made mine a bit more zesty with that ground mustard.  If you’re not the biggest fan just use a little less!

1.  Shred the carrots & turnips into a bowl.  Cut your cabbage in half and chop it up.

2.  Add the dijon, mayo, oil, lemon juice & vinegar to the veggies and mix.  Add in the seeds, chopped parsley.  Salt & pepper to taste.

This entry was posted in farmgirl, in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Coleslaw

  1. mary says:

    Love reading your blog and checking out the recipes. Last year we had a sluggy cabbage fest. This year we have 1 and 1/2 rows of cabbage and they have been almost perfect you just never know. You make living on Old Falmouth so much better and brighter! We’ ll keep on spreading the word and I look forward to the Powers book in the future!

Leave a Reply

