Pi(e) Day (part I)…

It has been brought to my attention that today is Pi Day and I, of course, interpret this as more than just the mathematical symbol of ‘Pi’ but my dear old friend ‘pie’ as well.  (I also like this interpretation of what pi sounds like as music).  If I could eat a piece of berry pie every day I would but honestly, I know in my heart that it wouldn’t ever taste as good as those moments when I really, really just want a piece.  So, in celebration of pie, I am sharing a few recipes that I tried over the weekend.  I was feeling pretty cozy and nestled-in this weekend so having the oven on with pies in them seemed like the right idea.

On Friday, I tried a second go this winter at making a veggie pot pie.  Although a healthy, homemade crust is pretty easy to make, I ended up buying an organic whole wheat pastry flour pie dough from Whole Foods because they were on sale… either way it tastes delicious. Try experimenting with different vegetables for the filling.. my philosophy is the more the merrier (in moderation and balance of course).  This pie will make enough for two to enjoy for a few days or for several people to enjoy at once.  Enjoy!

VEGGIE POT PIE

1 large potato or a few small ones
2-3 medium carrots, chopped
Handful of mushrooms
1 cup spinach or other leafy green
1/2 cup broccoli heads & stems (cut off the tough outer edge)
1/2 cup onion, chopped
4-6 garlic cloves, diced
corn & peas (I had to get mine in the frozen isle)
2 1/4 cups veggie broth
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon tarragon
2 1/2 tsp Tamari/Soy Sauce
A few shakes of thyme, oregano, marjoram & rosemary
Cornstarch or Flour (for thickener)
Olive Oil
Pepper
1 egg (optional)

1. Make pie crust or thaw out a frozen one. Chop up and sautee onions until translucent. Add in the garlic, potatoes, carrots, and then the rest of the veggies except for the spinach until they about 3/4 cooked. Add a teaspoon or 2 of Tamari sauce over the veggies to give it a light coating. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2. To make the gravy heat up the veggie broth in a saucepan. Add spices and lower heat. Slowly add cornstarch or flour until slightly thickened.  When it reaches desired consistency, add in a few shakes of pepper, salt and 1/2 tsp of Tamari sauce.

3. Spoon in veggies and sauce, then add spinach on top. Put the second pie shell/crust on top and seal the edges by lightly pinching them together. For a nicely browned crust you can crack and beat an egg into a small bowl and brush it on the top of the pie. (a nice little trick my mom taught me)

4. Bake for about 45 minutes, or until the crust is brown.

Let cool for a few moments, serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment